What is the NAICS?

The NAICS refers to the acronym of the North American Industry Classification System, which orders the different companies according to the economic activity they carry out.

How are the NAICS codes structured?

This classification system numbers industries with a two- to six-digit code, the higher the number, the greater the level of detail.

The NAICS structure consists of the following: AABCDE

  • AA: Sector
  • B: Subsector
  • C: Industry Group
  • D: Industry in NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement)
  • E: National industries.

How many NAICS codes are there?

If sectors, subsectors, industry groups, NAFTA and national industries are taken into account as separate codes of the North American Industry Classification System, there are a total of 2.129 codes. If each item is divided:

  • Sector: 24
  • Subsector: 97
  • Industry Group: 308
  • Industry in NAFTA: 689
  • National industries: 1.012


Go up

We use third-party cookies for statistical analysis and ads. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to their use. More information